New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Other
  • California, USA

Posted 04 April 2009 - 07:02 PM

Hey all,

I am planning to shoot a music video in a backyard at night. Since I am a student and have very limited crew/equipment, I do not have access to HMIs and am shooting on a 16mm Bolex using Kodak Vision2 500T or 200T.

My lighting equipment is limited to 6 china balls with florescents burning at 2700k and most probably Arri Kits with 2 x 1k, 2 x 650 and 2 x 350. The backyard isn't very big so I am planning on using the china balls to softly illuminate the audience while using the Arri's to put some light onto the stage, keeping the main singer 1-2 stops hotter than everyone else. The song is jazzy, and the director wants the look to be orangey and warm.

I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions or comments on how well this will work. I know that blue is always used for night exteriors but since this is a music video, I was wondering if I can get away without it? My only problem is I don't want the warm tungsten lighting to seem unnatural without the moonlight. I read in another post that sometimes ungelled tungsten puts out a neutral white light that can sometimes read as moonlight on tungsten stock?

I am also probably going to need to minusgreen the florescents and add some CTO to the Arri's to bring them closer in color temp. to florescents. We do not have the budget/time to do tests on film stocks, has anyone used Vision2 successfully for this kind of thing?

I appreciate everybody's comments and suggestions. Thanks a lot.

Yashad Kulkarni

#2 timHealy

timHealy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1252 posts
  • Other
  • New York

Posted 04 April 2009 - 10:07 PM

You don't need HMI's to make moonlight. You can use HMI's or tungsten with gel. You can use any type of CTB color correction or a bluish color effect gel.