#1 matthew lumley

matthew lumley

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Director

Posted 05 April 2009 - 02:08 AM

i am new to film and have no idea can someone explain the best way to set diopiter for canon 814 az
also if i am shooting indoors with artificial light and tri-x do i swith the switch on the side so the bulb symbol is showing or the sun, i guess its the bulb but just want to make sure
cheers

#2 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 05 April 2009 - 02:59 AM

i am new to film and have no idea can someone explain the best way to set diopiter for canon 814 az
also if i am shooting indoors with artificial light and tri-x do i swith the switch on the side so the bulb symbol is showing or the sun, i guess its the bulb but just want to make sure
cheers

It's the bulb. That's the symbol for tungsten light.

To set the diopter, focus the lens as close as possible and point the camera at a bright light. You should be able to focus the diopter until you can see the texture in the groundglass.

#3 Richard Tuohy

Richard Tuohy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 482 posts
  • Other
  • Daylesford, Australia

Posted 05 April 2009 - 11:04 PM

To set the diopter, focus the lens as close as possible and point the camera at a bright light. You should be able to focus the diopter until you can see the texture in the groundglass.

Actually that technique only works with cameras with ground glass viewing systems. Practically all super 8 cameras don't have a ground glass and rely on an aerial image. As such, you need to follow the steps I lay out on the following page:
http://nanolab.com.au/focusing.htm
cheers,
richard

#4 Chris Keth

Chris Keth
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4427 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Los Angeles

Posted 06 April 2009 - 12:15 AM