Ben Holmes

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Student

Posted 15 April 2009 - 07:05 PM

Hi,
I am a student filmmaker and just purchased an Arriflex ST full kit for 1600 US. I bought it off ebay thinking it was a good deal because I got confused with the SR... But think it was an ok choice anyway. Does anyone know somewhere in Melbourne I can get it serviced (It hasn't arrived yet but I know it will need one)? Also, would have an Arriflex BL kit have been a better choice for a little more money?

The ST is in great condition and comes with a load of ND's and filters-

http://cgi.ebay.com/...E:X:RTQ:US:1123

I intend to make short and feature films.

Thanks,

Ben

#2 Ian Cooper

Ian Cooper
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 469 posts
  • Other
  • England

Posted 16 April 2009 - 02:04 AM

I'm certainly not an expert in such matters, but the ST is a MOS camera that is too noisy to record sync. sound unless special precautions are taken (eg. only film outdoors with the camera situated half a mile from the microphone! ;) ). The BL is a self blimped camera designed to be quiet enough to record sync sound. Neither of the cameras generally come with a crystal synced motor as standard.

Neither of the cameras can be converted to super-16.

The BL only uses 400ft magazines, the ST can use 100ft internal spools or the optional external 400ft magazine.

The camera you've bought comes with an Angenieux 12-120 zoom, a lens that is also often in the lens blimp of the BL, so the image quality from your camera and a BL is going to be comparible, nothing stopping you using different lenses on either camera though.

It depends very much on the type of films you intend to make as to which camera would be best suited.

#3 Tim Carroll

Tim Carroll
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2165 posts
  • Other
  • Chicago, Illinois

Posted 16 April 2009 - 06:42 AM

Ben,