#1 anthony sado

anthony sado

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Other

Posted 19 April 2009 - 12:26 PM

if i was a beginner,what kind of lights would i require to give me a perfect quality when i am shooting a film?both indoors and outdoors, this has been giving me alot of trouble since i have no idea what to use or when to use it.if i could get a detailed rough guide u would be saving a life!!

#2 David Rakoczy

David Rakoczy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1579 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • USA

Posted 19 April 2009 - 12:34 PM

FILM LIGHTING

#3 Brian Dzyak

Brian Dzyak
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1517 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Encino, California USA

Posted 19 April 2009 - 02:56 PM

if i was a beginner,what kind of lights would i require to give me a perfect quality when i am shooting a film?both indoors and outdoors, this has been giving me alot of trouble since i have no idea what to use or when to use it.if i could get a detailed rough guide u would be saving a life!!

That's an impossible question to answer ("perfect quality" lighting) given that nearly every environment and shot will call for different technical requirements to achieve the required looks.

IN GENERAL though, indoors you'll need tungsten units of varying watts. Something like a 1K (with a Chimera to soften it) will be adequate to light a single and close up. You'll need larger units, 2K and up depending on the size of the shot and the space you're shooting in, (and larger Chimeras or diffusion frames) to soften those.