Photo

Novice Doc director needs new camera? HD?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Kate Donalek

Kate Donalek

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Director

Posted 20 April 2009 - 12:45 AM

I'm an amateur documentary filmmaker and I've got a camera department budget of $1000 on my next project. I've got a Cannon GL2, but after talking with some cinematography students, it seems that the consensus is that I should get a $3000 HD camera. That's not going to happen, but it has lead me to do some more research into purchasing a new camera.

Also, I'll be shooting in Dubai so it'll be hot and sandy sometimes, so I'm not sure I should buy a new camera for this film.

The GL2 and I have been through some pretty great shoots together, but the HD footage I've seen recently has intrigued me.

I'm not a cinematographer by any means, but on my mini-budget productions we are trying to operate with just 2 people in interviews etc... One on camera, and one on sound, a la Nick Broomfield. So I appreciate all advice and suggestions.

Thanks in advance!

#2 Rhys Cooper

Rhys Cooper
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Student

Posted 20 April 2009 - 04:27 AM

Where are you planning on having your films end up? YouTube? DVD? BluRay?
I wouldn't bother with HD unless you had both a BluRay burner and player, you're basically just getting bigger dimensions which won't burn to DVD that is compatible with DVD players. If it's going on the net there's not great use for it either. It's most likely going to be compressed by either you to uploaded it faster, or the website so users can download it faster.
If I were you I'd buy camera accessories, from an underwater box (if you ever want to shoot underwater, it would also block sand), to filters, lenses, lighting equipment, etc.
The Canon GL2 is fine, you just gotta learn how to use it to achieve a more professional look.
After all -- great equipment has little use without a great person behind it.