Stephen Smith
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
  • Student
  • UK

Posted 14 May 2009 - 09:27 AM

Hi,
thought i'd share a few stills from a short film i shot on my S16 NPR, I don't think id have managed to ever shoot s16 if it wasn't for all the help i've had off this forum.

It was a self funded project, we shot on EXR100t, vision 200t and eterna 250D (all cheap off ebay)

Telecine was best light to DVcam, these are pulled straight off without any post work.

Posted Image 250D

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

I think the older stocks looked alot nicer than the newer fuji.

The lens was an angenieux 10-150mm, i'm pretty happy with how its all come out. I mainly used lowel omnis and tota for fill, with muslin and a 2k to simulate sun light in a couple of shots. Hopefully i ahcieved a natural look?

Any critiques on the lighting is welcome, i'm still learning.... One thing i see is that some sort of dulling spray would have been useful on the lightswitch in the second still.

thanks for looking

Edited by Stephen Smith, 14 May 2009 - 09:30 AM.

#2 Jason Hinkle (RIP)

Jason Hinkle (RIP)
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Chicago, IL

Posted 16 May 2009 - 02:14 PM

great looking shots! i think you could go anywhere with it in post because the colors look neutral. that lightswitch will be fairly easily fixed with a matte since it's square. i really didn't notice the lighting at all, which is obviously good - it looks natural.

#3 Steven Wyatt

Steven Wyatt
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • West Yorkshire, UK

Posted 10 June 2009 - 04:07 AM

Hi Stephen!

Some nice stills there can't wait to see the film! Do you think you'll be uploading it online? Do you have any more projects in the pipeline?

Regards,
Steve

#4 Rob Vogt

Rob Vogt
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 437 posts
  • Other
  • New York

Posted 11 June 2009 - 05:07 PM