Linda di Franco

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Other
  • los angeles

Posted 14 June 2009 - 01:08 PM

I want to post videos and pix on my food blog but I suck. So bad.

I'm a professional editor but when it comes to hold a camcorder I'm a total clutz.

Why can't I take good pictures? What do I need to learn?

Learning form the shots I cut is not that easy, that footage is usually lightened by professional DPs, my videos and pix relies only on natural light, usually at a restaurant.

What can I do to make it look good?

Also, what camcorder shall I buy, that is not that intrusive? Restaurants don't really like conspicuous gear, I have to use a FlipMino to get away with it at the moment.

Please help...

#2 K Borowski

K Borowski
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3905 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • I.A.T.S.E. Local # 600 Eastern Region

Posted 14 June 2009 - 03:23 PM

Hoestly, wheter you are stalking about still photography, video, film, or a mixture of all three, this really is a venue where you ought hire a professional.

An expensive camera is a waste of money if you don't understand the fundamentals of lighting, focus, and T-stop.

Also, with food, there is a whole spectrum of things being done to the product outside of the realm of just lighting it right. There's a lot of fakery and trickery that, while not necessary, needs to be learned if you are to do an effective job of lighting food.

Most of the commercials I see for restaurants on TV are still shot on 16- or 35mm film, a look that you aren't going to be able to afford.

There's really no way to compete against commercials with million-dollar budgets and dedicated art directors.

#3 K Borowski

K Borowski
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3905 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • I.A.T.S.E. Local # 600 Eastern Region

Posted 14 June 2009 - 03:28 PM

Sorry Linda, I didn't fully understand your post.

Upon further inspection, I see that this is something you are going to do "run and gun".