#1 Jon Bel

Jon Bel
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Director

Posted 21 June 2009 - 03:58 PM

Hi There,

I am a newbie and always willing to get some tips from experienced DP's. I really
enjoyed the thread (bluish look). I have a similar question. I am shooting on 35mm and I am looking to shoot a scene with smoke and colored light (Red). I'd like it to look something like the ending scene in Aliens (Ripley character is going back to find the little girl and its smoky and orange) only red instead of orange/yellow.

Smoky and red.

Should I gel some lights with red gels, turn on my smoke machine, spread the smoke and shoot?

What kind of film stock should I use?

I appreciate any tips.

Here's a link but not quite too colorful.

http://9queens.org/w..._04aliens_l.jpg

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19765 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 21 June 2009 - 07:56 PM

If all the lighting is red, you might as well save yourself the trouble and just use white light and a red camera filter...

Often things shot under red lighting look out of focus unfortunately, and on a lot of TV's, they also look noisy or smeary. Smoke would soften the image further. I tend to use red sparingly, like for a backlight but with some less-red colors in the frame as well.

Mark Woods once wrote an article about shooting a scene under magenta lights and then timing it to red in post -- he felt that the image was sharper that way because he exposed detail on some of the other color layers.

#3 Karel Bata

Karel Bata
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 487 posts
  • Director
  • London - a rather posh bit

Posted 22 June 2009 - 12:03 PM

That makes sense. But how would you do that?

If you're going DI you could shoot with white light (you'll need less of it) and later selectively convert the other colors to red. You'd have more control then over the final 'look'.