Jeremy Philip Lawn

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Producer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 23 June 2009 - 11:14 AM

So, I am an experienced producer (past productions have been video, television, documentary and live concert), now working on my first film. I have great foresight... and have always accurately pinned a production time line to fall within its budget, usually 5-figures.

I am confident in my ability to lay out a budget for this movie (to be shot HD)... just looking for advice from other Producers who have gone through the budgeting process on a movie, while simultaneously thinking about the production design/creative process. i.e. Snags you have run into, unexpected items, additional unexpected items, and general variables you have run into in a film budget. I have not mentioned the type of film here because it is not decided yet (early stages, working with a few script ideas right now). So this post is very general, but any type of input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

#2 Jim Keller

Jim Keller
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Producer
  • Fresno, CA

Posted 23 June 2009 - 12:42 PM

My one piece of advice to anyone doing a budget, in any medium, is this: Budget based on rate-card prices. Negotiate deals after you get the financing in place. You want the surprises to increase, not decrease your contingency.

#3 Arnar Sigurdsson

Arnar Sigurdsson

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Producer

Posted 20 July 2009 - 11:20 AM

Hi Jeremy,
I can't claim to be a veteran producer, but perhaps this helps:

It might be obvious, but budgets fail the most when they are not organically linked with the artistic and logistical planning of the film. The budget has to reflect how the film is planned (technical, artistic and logistical plans) and then it will become the shell which keeps this in place.