Adam Wallensten
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Student
  • Copenhagen, Denmark

Posted 14 July 2009 - 09:48 AM

Hi!

In mid August I'm going to Congo (DRC) for two weeks to film a feature-documentary. The crew only consists of me and the director and a local translator/fixer. We'll be starting out in the capitol Kinshasa where we're going to get certain permits that allows us to go further. The main location though is a miningvillage deep in the jungle. To get there we will fly with UN-troops to a small village. From there we ride motorcycle for a day and then trek 2-3 days through the jungle. In the mining-village there are some generators so we will be able to get power for the batteries and equipment.

I'll be shooting on Sony EX1. We will bring enough (50 or 60) SD cards so that I won't have to transfer it to a computer and harddrives and overwrite the cards.

It's my first time in Africa so I would appreciate any tips or advice on filming in: Africa, the jungle, in that type of heat and humidity, in "dangerous" situations, filming dark-skinned people against bright sun, tips on equipment handeling etc.
Also any advice on special equipment that would help me out would be great (that I will be able to carry ofcourse ;).

Thanks

Adam Wallensten
Denmark

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7115 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 14 July 2009 - 09:55 AM

MALARIA PILLS! Lots of Malaria pills!

I also recommend looking into a solar powered backpack and seeing if you can get the camera to hold a charge.