Photo

Relative sharpness of Optar Illuminas compared to Zeiss, etc.?

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Tyler Henry

Tyler Henry

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 17 July 2009 - 03:22 PM

Hi -

I'm fairly new to film (ironically, transitioning from video), but I'm currently looking into getting a set of primes for my super16 Kinor SX-2M (PL mount).

The Optar Illuminas look great to me, and as I'm a happy Russian camera (+ zoom lens) owner, I have faith in an all-Russian rig.

I'm just wondering where the Illuminas fall in the scale of sharp to soft lenses.

I found this rundown of lens manufacturers on konvas.org:

"Sharpest, hardest, downward to warmer, softer-- In my use, only, spherical lenses--

Late Zeiss
Late Cooke
Fuji Cine
Rodenstock
Schneider
Later Leitz
Later Lomo
Canon Cine
Angenieux
earlier Zeiss
Cooke Speed Panchro
B&H
Earlier Leitz
earlier Lomo"

Ideally, I think I'd like to get something in the middle of the spectrum, for all purpose use - I don't want clinical, but I don't want gauzy. I've read that the Illuminas are comparable to the Zeiss superspeeds. But maybe that comparison is based on the T-stops and coverage rather than the warmth of the lens? Is there any quantifiable lens rating (i.e. lpmm?) that can give me a sense of the sharpness? And should I even be worried about this? (Although, when spending this many rubles, I will worry about whatever I can.)

I'm also wondering if anyone has followed up on the few seemingly half price deals on the net for Illumina sets (i.e. ~$7400). I read that these are bait and switch scams.
For instance:
http://xl1solutions...._are_the_fi.htm

Any advice is welcome. Thanks very much!

----
Lens list quoted from this page:
http://konvas.org/fa...ooke-other.html

#2 Satsuki Murashige

Satsuki Murashige
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3510 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • San Francisco, CA

Posted 18 July 2009 - 03:17 AM

What's your budget?