29 replies to this topic

#1 Doug Durant

Doug Durant
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera

Posted 15 August 2009 - 02:37 PM

I figured a few people might appreciate these short yet wonderful clips. Hearing that Malick's unique improvised style of filmmaking can even make a master like Lubezki question and doubt himself which was definitely a real eye opener for me. Lubezki comes off extremely humble and charming, and inspirational which is what I've heard from a few people who've met him. I can't wait to see this film.

http://www.youtube.c...feature=channel

#2 Igor Trajkovski

Igor Trajkovski
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Other
  • Macedonia

Posted 16 August 2009 - 10:28 AM

Thanks for sharing.
:)

From the third video:
"Once i started shooting with no lights,
suddenly i felt like a naked man in the middle of Time Square... "

I can relate to that ! :)

Best

Ihor

#3 Saul Rodgar

Saul Rodgar
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1682 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 16 August 2009 - 08:03 PM

Sad, but that is a true testament that film making as it is practiced by Hollywood is more about the lights / gear than the actual craft. I once asked fellow board member director-cinematographer John Jost, "how big was your lighting package when you shot "The Bed You Sleep In." He replied "I only use one light."

Glad Malick is bringing some sense into this gear-driven madness. Perhaps all big name DPs should shoot a film for Malick, i.e. "cinematography re-education camps."

#4 Subhadip Sen

Subhadip Sen

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 17 August 2009 - 12:13 PM

Watched these before - illuminating stuff! It's amazing how Lubezki can live up to Malick's insane demands. I mean, shooting in 65mm with no lights!

#5 Saul Rodgar

Saul Rodgar
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1682 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 17 August 2009 - 01:34 PM