Andrew Neal

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Director
  • Oxford

Posted 21 September 2009 - 09:30 AM

I'm new to this site and I'm new to filmmaking. I am looking to buy an affordable camera at a decent price. What type of camera should I start with and how much and/or where could I find it? If anyone can help me out I truly appreciate it. Thanks again! :unsure:

#2 Tom Hepburn

Tom Hepburn
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 341 posts
  • Other
  • Chicago-land

Posted 21 September 2009 - 11:30 AM

I'm new to this site and I'm new to filmmaking. I am looking to buy an affordable camera at a decent price. What type of camera should I start with and how much and/or where could I find it? If anyone can help me out I truly appreciate it. Thanks again! :unsure:

Hi Andrew,

One question that you'll need to ask yourself, is are you going to record sound, particularly dialogue that needs to be in sync. That is one of the things that will make a very big difference in a camera selection. I would suggest that you give a little more detail as to what your goals are and any other details about potential projects. The question(s) alove are a little vague.

Good luck and welcome.
Tom

#3 Andrew Neal

Andrew Neal

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Director
  • Oxford

Posted 21 September 2009 - 12:54 PM

I am doing a project for the Oxford Film Festival in Mississippi. I need a camera that can record sound aswell. Not a camera that is too expensive for I am on a budget. I'm shooting a dramatic movie that will take place in a rural college town. Most scenes will take place in a court room & Interrogation Room. I am working with a budget no more than $1200 for the whole project. I also have software for editing my film with Audio & Visual Effects. This is what my project is about...
The Title is "Confessions of a Cynical Killer"
Plot Line: