Photo

Need some advice about which way to go!!

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Naomi Digby

Naomi Digby

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Industry Rep
  • Los Angeles

Posted 29 September 2009 - 10:45 PM

Hi, everyone! I am new here at Cinematography.com and I'm happy to have finally found a place where I can meet fellow amateur and professional DP's!

To make my story short as possible, I graduated from Tufts University and The School of Museum of Fine Arts (located in Boston) in 2008. My art school didn't have an impressive film and photography department, but I learned what I could...Mostly worked with 8mm film, crappy 1-chip mini DV cameras, analog still-photography (both color and b&w), and plenty of Final Cut Pro. We had virtually NO good/new equipment at school. Almost all of the newer equipment were either stolen, broken or hogged by grad students...But I made the best out of the stuff they did have and I learned to do so much on my own. While it was a good thing that I became adept at creating my own home-made lights, and putting weird little contraptions on my camera to create the image I wanted, I had no knowledge of how to operate higher-end, professional cameras, and I didn't know how to do lighting professionally.

So the summer before my senior year at college and up until this past summer, I interned/PA-ed at HSI Productions in Culver City and Indie Rental (a camera house) in Hollywood. As useful as it was to PA in commercial and music video production, I didn't get to work on set as much as I had liked and Indie Rentals didn't give me ANY work to do...I literally had to beg someone everyday to do something. Usually ended up being a super menial task too. Thus, I didn't get to learn more about cinematography from either internships.