#1 Marcus Phipps

Marcus Phipps
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 17 October 2009 - 04:19 AM

Greetings.

I am 'inheriting' a Canon DXC-327 video camera. It looks impressive and professional. And even says "Professional" on the camera. So it must be true. I mean it just must be true. he he

Here are my questions related to this camera. I have zero knowledge on this camera. I was lucky enough to get one from family with good intentions. I feel it is a good way to learn from without investing any money. I know most of you will hate this camera and the technology is old. But I pick it up in a few weeks when I visit family. Here's what I was told it has :

- 3 CCD HAD Sensor
- CA 327 Adaptor DC 12v 0.8w
- Fujinon Eagle Lense s16x7BMD-D18

It is said to be in good condition. But I simply don't know what it really is and what I really need. Thus the following questions.

1) Recording Unit - I want to record to a hard drive preferably. Is this possible?
2) If not possible to go into a PC / hard drive, what options do I have or am I restricted to look for? Or what special cables might I need?

3) Is this considered a 'sub par' camera? I'm sure at one time it was something worthy of owning. But I have a feeling it's really a nice looking paper-weight in this day and age. Maybe they are still used in some places or countries. Just curious if it's even considered a reputable camera anymore? Ignoring today's technology. Is this camera still used?

4) Does this camera require allot of 'tweaking'? Meaning, some of the older cameras are said to have to have allot of tweaking and they all have screw-marring from being taken apart. Does this particular model have any known issues or tweaking requirements I should be made aware of?