Photo

LIGHTING ISSUES IN HIGH SCHOOL HIGHWAYS!

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Stu Segal

Stu Segal

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 03 December 2009 - 06:00 PM

Hello to all Cinema Experts and Lovers

I am a first year film student shooting on a Bolex 16mm cam
My film takes place during the day in a poorly lit tungsten based fluorescent
lighted high school. In different parts of the high school, the hallway ends off
with different ends. One of them has huge windows with plenty of daylight to come in. Similarly,
within the classroom, there is a wall of natural lit daylight that flows in that interacts with the tungsten lights. I did a test shoot on FUJI REALA 500D and some of the shots came out a bit green.
I didn't think to test with any of my actors because I didnt have any on hand. So I am worried about the colour balance when I go from hall to hall and from hall to classroom mixing a lot of daylight with tungston. I have access to a three point lighting kit and a low budget. That's about it.
If anyone has any ideas what I could do to balance the lights without too much trouble while keeping the realism aspect and allowing the people in the film to look decent, I'd love some help!
I've heard a few ideas of using a grey card somewhere to correct the hallways, but that it might throw off the classroom with the daylight. Also using a half blue filter with distortion behind the camera on the dolly to light the subject in frame. Also using a FL-D I believe (1/4 or 1/8 magenta) gel in front of the camera.

THANK YOU.

Edited by Stu Segal, 03 December 2009 - 06:03 PM.

#2 Tom Jensen

Tom Jensen
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1234 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • Dallas, TX

Posted 03 December 2009 - 06:07 PM