Samantha

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Other
  • Australia

Posted 01 January 2010 - 12:14 PM

Happy new year folks. One question that's been driving me nuts about lighting is exactly how subjective is it?

I'm relatively new to cinematography but I have developed a wee obsession with lighting, but I seem to have a different eye and tend to like a lot of lighting that others may not necessarily like.

Good lighting is good lighting, but when it comes to creative lighting how subjective is it? Is it just a matter of making it look good on camera or is there room for interpretation? Or am I being "too arty" with my lighting as my various colleagues tend to intimate? :)

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 01 January 2010 - 12:25 PM

Happy new year folks. One question that's been driving me nuts about lighting is exactly how subjective is it?

I'm relatively new to cinematography but I have developed a wee obsession with lighting, but I seem to have a different eye and tend to like a lot of lighting that others may not necessarily like.

Good lighting is good lighting, but when it comes to creative lighting how subjective is it? Is it just a matter of making it look good on camera or is there room for interpretation? Or am I being "too arty" with my lighting as my various colleagues tend to intimate? :)

You need to change your user name to include a Last Name, Samantha.

Lighting is an art, and art is subjective. But if your tastes are far out of alignment with your peers and the general public, you may not be as successful from a commercial standpoint, since filmmaking itself is often a commercial art for profit.