Claudio Fusini
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • Student
  • Italy

Posted 31 January 2010 - 08:30 AM

Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie, a student, and I'm having some troubles in making light set-up for a stage (is an exercise for the lighting course at my school). I know there are a lot of topics about sunset light but it's hard for me to understand lights. I'm here to learn! ;)

I have to light a kind of living room with a sunset light coming from a window.. and light a girl which is sit at the table with the same sunlight. It's a situation like.. mm.. when you come back home during the sunset hour and there is the living room lighten up just with the sunlight coming from window. :D

I can use arri650, HMI and Kino. CTO and CTB. The window must be back the girl.

I thought to use the HMI as the sun light, diffuse it trough the window. Using a tungsten light with full CTB to light a part of the stage like a sun shine.
Put a tungsten light as a keylight back of the girl with full CTB and another tungsten as backlight on the otherside of the girl with no CTB. Then use Kino (5600K) as a fill light. The camera it's with 5600 balance. And it's only one shot, like a picture.

I'm afraid that I'm doing "too much" and that the light will be not "sunset" but midday :D

as I told at the beginning I'm a new one ;) and I'm italian, sorry for my english ;)
thanx a lot!

Claudio

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7116 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 31 January 2010 - 08:39 AM

Claudio;
I if the camera is at 5600K, as that will make the sunset "white," when in reality they're golden, orange. so you'll need to CTO any daylight lights and possibly your tungsten heads as well.
And how to light it would depend on what mood you want.