wendell adkins

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 23 February 2010 - 11:13 PM

Hello to all,

This is my first post so I will apologize in advance for any and all silly questions that are surely to follow.

I have recently started flying an Eyemo variant on my large radio controlled helicopters. I have been doing this for several years now (with HD cameras like the HVX/HPX, EX1/EX3, 5D Mk2 and most recently the Red One) but have always wanted to give film a try so I just dove right in. I have done much research but still have several unanswered questions.

I have the video assist image downlinked to my camera operators ground station who can start/stop rolling the camera remotely by DC motor. My question is, how might I get indication that the camera is actually rolling and also end of reel indication?

Where can I find other gearing? I have 8, 30 and 48 fps but would like a few others?

I have many other questions but I'll hold back the floodgates for now.

Thanks!

Wendell

#2 Evan Ferrario

Evan Ferrario
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Director

Posted 24 February 2010 - 05:16 PM

Is there a way to put a small microphone next to the camera and broadcast that with the video? If you could hear the camera, you could hear that it was turned on and when it started to make the flap flap noise of all done. I think this would be easier than some sort of sensor for each.

#3 wendell adkins

wendell adkins

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 24 February 2010 - 07:47 PM

Unfortunately the engine noise level is about as loud as an average lawnmower so the camera noise would get overwhelmed.

#4 John Sprung

John Sprung
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4635 posts
  • Other

Posted 24 February 2010 - 07:59 PM