4 replies to this topic

#1 Bill Munns

Bill Munns
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Other

Posted 08 March 2010 - 10:40 PM

I'm studying two different film frames I've scanned, both by the same scanning system at 4K.

I couldn't upload the image to this forum even though the image was only 93K, and twice got a message of "Upload unsuccessful" so I had to upload it to another forum and it can be seen at this direct URL:

http://www.bigfootfo...showtopic=29020

The left image is camera original and known to be Kodachrome film from 1968 and it has an excellent fine grain and detail.

The right image may be a copy, original stock unknown, but it's graininess is so extreme as compared to the right that I can't figure out why.

Options I can think of are:

1. Using a high speed Ektachrome, like the 160 ASA maybe?

2. Asking the processing lab to push one or two stops in the development?

3. Copying grain buildup?

4. Original shot on 8 or Super 8mm and blown up to 16mm?

5. ???

I'm open to any idea of why the one is so grainy as compared to the other, when both were scanned by the same device and at the same scanning resolution, and are both shown at equal image size in Photoshop when the composite image was made for display.

Thanks for any ideas.

Bill

#2 Paul Bruening

Paul Bruening

(deceased)

• Sustaining Members
  • 2858 posts
  • Producer
  • Oxford, Mississippi

Posted 08 March 2010 - 11:25 PM

The right side's cooler than the left. Kodachrome, Ektachrome difference came to my mind first. It looks like any of your suggestions could be in play, though.

#3 Bill Munns

Bill Munns
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Other

Posted 09 March 2010 - 12:33 AM

In the same URL referenced in the top posting, I have added another comparison if you go down about 4 replies from the top.