4 replies to this topic

#1 Patrick Cooper

Patrick Cooper
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 868 posts
  • Other

Posted 06 June 2010 - 07:50 AM

Some time soon, I'm planning to use an omni directional microphone to record the sounds of nature in a native bush setting (mostly bird calls) for a short film. Recorder will likely be a Mini Disc device. I admit that i am new to audio (and new to the whole concept of manually adjusting levels.) I think this project is going to be particularly challenging. Obviously, there will be times of silence and times where bird calls are quite loud and also times where bird calls will be more distant and fainter. So the sound level will likely be all over the place...very inconsistent. Should I wait for the loudest bird calls and adjust the levels to that particular sound source and just leave it at that setting for the whole recording duration?

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7118 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 06 June 2010 - 08:46 AM

What i'd say do is that you'd want to keep your closest bird sounds at -12db, and not boost the audio up for silence. Silence has a sound and it should be proportional to your loudest sounds. The same can be said for the distant bird calls, by them being quieter they sound, well, more distant. So, whatever is making the most noise, closest, is what you'd want to set your levels for and then ride them as need be (bringing them up and down gently). But you should try to keep things to -12 or -10 DB for the louder/closer things. Now, of course something will go well above that, but so long as it's a brief "peak," then you should be ok.

#3 Patrick Cooper

Patrick Cooper
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 868 posts
  • Other

Posted 08 June 2010 - 12:35 AM