New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Student
  • NYC & Boston

Posted 15 June 2010 - 05:38 PM

Hey everyone,

I'm a young film student looking to pick up and viewfinder, and seeing I don't know much about viewfinders I'd appreciate any advice you guys could give as far as what to consider, or what to stay away from, or if it doesn't really matter.

I mostly work in 16mm, filming in 4:3, 16:9 (and occasionally Ultra 16), with 10-120 zoom, some and normals set of primes. I'm starting to shoot on a 5D & anticipate doing more of this in the future, and I won't be shooting anything on 35mm.

I'm considering picking up this viewfinder from Duall. Any thoughts one way or the other?
http://www.duallcame...ore/index.shtml

Thanks
-Jake

#2 jacob thomas

jacob thomas
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Other

Posted 16 June 2010 - 04:12 AM

Hey everyone,

I'm a young film student looking to pick up and viewfinder, and seeing I don't know much about viewfinders I'd appreciate any advice you guys could give as far as what to consider, or what to stay away from, or if it doesn't really matter.

I mostly work in 16mm, filming in 4:3, 16:9 (and occasionally Ultra 16), with 10-120 zoom, some and normals set of primes. I'm starting to shoot on a 5D & anticipate doing more of this in the future, and I won't be shooting anything on 35mm.

I'm considering picking up this viewfinder from Duall. Any thoughts one way or the other?
http://www.duallcame...ore/index.shtml

Thanks
-Jake

I can't think of a single time I've seen one of these viewfinders being used on set.
If you have a budget use a pl/pv mount viewfinder with the actual lens you intend to use.
If you don't have a budget a dslr is a good option. It won't have the same dof as 16mm (unless it's a micro 4/3 camera which is close) I doubt these viewfinders would either, but it'll probably have better quality optics than one of these viewfinders and you can take a still to show what you want.