#1 Chris Burke

Chris Burke
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1675 posts
  • Boston, MA

Posted 27 June 2010 - 09:00 AM

Hi,

I was going to use my camera yesterday. I had it out and was getting ready for a shoot. I saw some dust on the view finder and wiped it with a lens cloth, the piece of glass moved in slightly when touch and then sprung back as if it had a spring behind it. I never noticed this before. Now I cannot get a sharp image in the viewfinder and there is a slight rattling sound inside it. It seems as if I dislodged something. Is there anyway to fix this other than sending it into the shop? Is there a safe way to remove and examine the viewfinder?

#2 Robert Capria

Robert Capria
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
  • Other
  • NYC

Posted 27 June 2010 - 12:36 PM

I have a Nizo 6080 and never had this happen. I'm not an expert on the camera but I know they are
delicate. It might be tricky to take apart unless you are mechanically inclined and have the right
miniature tools. If you've never had your camera serviced before and you are serious about filming
in Super 8, it might be worth the $200-$300 to get it checked out and completely serviced. The Nizo
6080 is one of the best Super 8 cameras and is probably worth keeping in great shape so you can use
it with confidence for years to come. Call Du-All Camera in NYC for pricing. There are other places
as well out there.

Bests,

Robert

#3 Chris Burke

Chris Burke
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1675 posts
  • Boston, MA

Posted 28 June 2010 - 07:57 PM

I have a Nizo 6080 and never had this happen. I'm not an expert on the camera but I know they are
delicate. It might be tricky to take apart unless you are mechanically inclined and have the right
miniature tools. If you've never had your camera serviced before and you are serious about filming
in Super 8, it might be worth the $200-$300 to get it checked out and completely serviced. The Nizo