#1 Deji Joseph

Deji Joseph
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Student
  • London

Posted 19 July 2010 - 02:41 PM

I understand everyone has their own directing style, and was wondering how this affected your lens choices. I am currently a film student and while i haven't shot alot of Drama, i like the look of a long lens and the perspective it gives. most of the time i go, long for subjective and wide for objective shots. i rarely use wides unless i want to show the whole scene. what are your opinions?

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 19 July 2010 - 04:25 PM

I tend to go with Wide lenses, al'la Gilliam when I want to distort people or showcase a skewed vision. I don't like it when it distorts the image too much; just enough to be subtly noticeable. I've been known to do a close up on a 9.5mm (S16mm film) about 1 foot from the actor's face.... . At the same time, I tend to avoid longer lenses-- the longest I've thusly reached for often (on 35mm) has been an 85mm lens, or my 75mm. It's not that I don't like longer lenses, I just often find myself in interior locations which are pretty small, and I also don't like too much how long lenses compress the background. I like a little bit of a deeper background which I feel makes talent stand out more.
But, in the end, I'm not a director, so I'll also throw on whatever lens the Director tells me to ;) unless I have some strong misgiving, which I'll voice to him/her just to let them know, then do what they tell me.

#3 Frank Glencairn

Frank Glencairn
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Germany

Posted 19 July 2010 - 04:36 PM

I seldom shoot something under 50mm. Mostly 85 or longer.
The only time I use wide glass. is in super tight rooms and for panoramic/landscape/cityscape stuff.
In German Films they overuse wide lenses (maybe cause most German DPs love Roger Deakins).