Tom Sykes
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
  • Other
  • Manchester, UK.

Posted 22 August 2010 - 08:36 AM

Hi all,

I'm in my final year at Uni and am looking to do my final year project in the cinematography area, as this is what part of the industry i want to be in. I'm going to be basing my dissertation on specific styles of cinematography.

I'm going to be using this website as a lot of my sources and information as well as other sources.

If you read this and can spare any time to help me, that would be fantastic, so far, the question I am going to answer for my dissertation is something along the lines of;

"How much does a specific style of a DoP/Cinematographer affect the way an audience perceive its images?"

Now this question is only rough at the moment, if anyone can help make it better or has any other ideas which they think i could benefit from that would be awesome.

For this question, i'm looking into researching various DP's and their style and basically after research and planning, making essentially one short, but numerous times, implementing the style of each DP.

Is this a good idea? Can it be better? I'm asking this community as obviously it is by far the biggest online community of cinematographers and is most probably where i can get the most help.

Thanks for reading,

I look forward to hearing your inputs.

Tom.

#2 Dom Jaeger

Dom Jaeger
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1599 posts
  • Other
  • Melbourne, Australia

Posted 23 August 2010 - 06:20 AM

Hi Tom,

I'm not a cinematographer, but for what it's worth I'll throw my two cents in.

It sounds like an intriguing idea. If I understand you correctly, you want to make the same short film over and over, but each time using a different cinematographic style.