17 replies to this topic

#1 Miles Jordan

Miles Jordan
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Student

Posted 11 September 2010 - 02:10 PM

Hey. I'm new to this whole film thing and I was wondering if you have to develop Ektachrome 100d film. If so, can someone explain the reason? Can I not just put it on a projector to watch it? Thanks.

#2 K Borowski

K Borowski
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3905 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • I.A.T.S.E. Local # 600 Eastern Region

Posted 11 September 2010 - 02:31 PM

Sure you have to develop it. If you were to shoot the film and then try to immediately project it you would ruin everything you had shot because film is light-, heat-, and radiation sensitive until the time of processing. There is only a latent image on film after you shoot it (You could only see this with special equipment under a microscope; to the naked eye a latent image on film looks no different than unexposed film) This needs to be chemically REDUCED by a developer to form a silver image and then a color image. This applies to just about all types of photographic film and paper that I know of. There are only a few types of plate-making films for offset printing that can be handled in subdued roomlight.

As for it being Ektachrome, that means that it is process E-6, not ECN-2 (movie color negative) or C-41 (still color negative). E-6 processing produces an image B&W high-contrast negative. This black, metallic silver image is then bleached out, and the remaining unexposed silver (think a negative of a negative) is then developed in a second color developer to produce a projection-contrast image on the film.

It is best to have a proper film lab that specializes in E-6 do the processing. Be aware that there are only a few that offer E-6 processing. I've used Pac Labs in New York for Reversal work (although it was with VNF-1 the predecessor to the E-6 process in motion picture work) with good results.

#3 Miles Jordan

Miles Jordan