#1 neil kerr

neil kerr
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • Director
  • Ireland

Posted 02 October 2010 - 05:55 PM

I have been photographing stills for the past number of years using a number of manual polaroid cameras and feel that I have learnt a lot about lighting in that time but i am still nowhere near where I would like to be. I am reasonably confident when using strobes, softboxes, umbrellas and the usual stills gear but, given that I have very little experience using continuous lighting, I really feel that I need to improve my knowledge of lighting for film.

I have read "Cinematography: Theory and Practice: Image Making for Cinematographers, Directors, and Videographers" and "Motion Picture and Video Lighting" and a number of other cinematography books but would like to read a few more. I understand that reading can only count for so much and am also just getting stuck in and shooting but I'd like to keep learning on and off the set.

Any advice on books worth reading or dvd tutorials worth having a look at would be much appreciated.

ta'
neil

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19765 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 02 October 2010 - 07:48 PM

"Film Lighting" by Malkiewicz

#3 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7118 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 03 October 2010 - 08:13 AM

+1 vote for Film Lighting.

#4 Guy Holt

Guy Holt
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Gaffer
  • Boston

Posted 03 October 2010 - 10:26 AM

Though it is more technically oriented than the other books you cite, I highly recommend Harry Box's "Set Lighting Technician's Handbook." The greatly expanded 4th Edition just came out so make sure the one you get has the cover pictured below:

Posted Image