Miguel Luis

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Student
  • San Francisco, CA

Posted 10 October 2010 - 10:00 PM

Hi, I'm currently an international student on an F-1 visa. I plan on working in the US for after graduating, and I've always wondered how it works. I understand that to get any work in the US, I will need a work visa. And to get a work visa, I need to find a company that is willing to sponsor me.

Now, how does it work in the film industry?

#2 Richard Boddington

Richard Boddington
  • Sustaining Members
  • 5482 posts
  • Director

Posted 10 October 2010 - 10:35 PM

In brief it doesn't. Film work is freelance and based on work availability so the odds of a production company jumping through the hoops with the INS are quite low. Your only chance would be to find a production company that would hire you as a M-F 9-5 worker, and help you get an H-1. Which will be very difficult to get given the current employment situation in the USA. The employer will need to prove to the INS that there are no qualified Americans that can do your job, this will be near impossible with film and video production.

Film people can work in the US with an O-1, but this is only for film professionals with extensive resumes that will work at the producer/director level and already have numerous credits on professional productions. Processing and legal starts at $5000.00 USD FYI.

The H-1 would be your best bet, but it's a long and expensive road. If you're single, then your fastest route to be able to stay and work in the USA would be to marry a US citizen, that is the reality.

I'm not an expert on US immigration but I play one on TV. B)

R,

#3 Phil Rhodes

Phil Rhodes
  • Sustaining Members
  • 11944 posts
  • Other

Posted 11 October 2010 - 08:35 AM

I've also looked into this extensively and it has been discussed on the forum a few times - run a search.