Simon Hildwein

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 27 October 2010 - 06:55 AM

Hello,

Im a animation student, and very new to cinematography related problems. So I have a lot of questions. Currently Im in the pre-production stage of a shortfilm.

The story happens during a period of about two days but is compressed to the lenght of the film which is 5 min. My problem: The only "technique" I know, to bridge a time gap, is to fade the screen to black. But I also need editing techniques for shorter time gaps.

for example: a character graps a ball from the ground, then he walks ten steps and then he throws the ball. I dont want to show the whole action which might take 8 sec. If I cut and skip some time, is this a mistake?

This is a rough animatic,, which needs a lot of editing. Not long ago I heard the first time about continuity edting, 180 & 30 degree rule,..... Perhaps you could help me about that.
Its not finished

#2 Brian Drysdale

Brian Drysdale
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5070 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 27 October 2010 - 08:23 AM

for example: a character graps a ball from the ground, then he walks ten steps and then he throws the ball. I dont want to show the whole action which might take 8 sec. If I cut and skip some time, is this a mistake?

No, it's done all the time, editors commonly don't show a character walking across rooms in real time from when they walk in to their first line of dialogue. They take out most of the walk, for example having the character walking into frame to deliver the dialogue. Editing is about compressing and what matters is how well the cut works.

Well worth reading some books on editing, there are lots of cutting techniques that they use.

#3 Mike Lary

Mike Lary
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Other

Posted 27 October 2010 - 08:49 AM

Hi Simon,