#1 Scott Frace

Scott Frace

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student

Posted 13 November 2010 - 12:14 PM

I am planning on lighting a night scene outside our cities courthouse. I was planning on using a 8' helium balloon with a B&M 5K tungsten light bounced off it to created a soft glow, then fill in the front with a soft box and smaller lights where needed. The problem is the only generator I can get is a 6000w but only has two 30amp 240V outlets and six 20amp 120V outlets. If I have done the math correctly the 5K light is approximately 42amps running a 5000W DPY 120V bulb, which exceeds the 120V outlet max. Is it possible to change the bulb to a 5000W Arri CP29 220-240V and run it off the 240V line? This should bring the amps down to 22ish which the generator is able to handle.

I'm a student filmaker so HMI lights are out of the question. We have no rental places within 90 miles and no budget to work with. Is there another method to achieve the soft light look? I have several 1000w and 500w lights to work with. I'll be shooting with a RED one mainly 28mm, 50mm, and 85mm lenses, stopped down to f/4. Not sure if that helps with how much light I will need. Any help would be appreciated. Thank You.

#2 timHealy

timHealy
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1252 posts
  • Other
  • New York

Posted 13 November 2010 - 08:59 PM

That should work, but I would get the bulb and test it with your genny before your shoot to make sure your wiring works.

Having said that, I'm not familiar with a B and M 5k, but a typical Mole 5k would not be as punchy as a bunch of 1k par cans with 1000 watt narrow bulbs or 1200 watt fire starters.

I'm just saying.

best

Tim

#3 JD Hartman

JD Hartman
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1690 posts
  • Gaffer
  • Edison, N.J. U.S.A.

Posted 14 November 2010 - 04:10 PM