10 replies to this topic

#1 david richardson

david richardson
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 23 November 2010 - 01:30 PM

Hello i'm a photographer but I've just made my first suer 8 video. I haven't made a film before but I love films. Any advice or criticism would be wonderful.

#2 Chris Burke

Chris Burke
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1675 posts
  • Boston, MA

Posted 23 November 2010 - 04:24 PM

Hello i'm a photographer but I've just made my first suer 8 video. I haven't made a film before but I love films. Any advice or criticism would be wonderful.

loved it! way cool. Sort of underexposed, but not a problem. did you shoot it on ektachrome? Looks like it.

#3 James Compton

James Compton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 311 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 23 November 2010 - 05:20 PM

Good job. Looks good for a first Super 8 roll. Keep up the good work.

#4 david richardson

david richardson
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 23 November 2010 - 06:03 PM

Many thanks for checking it out! Yeah I used EKTACHROME 100D. The camera I used was a nizo 801, loved using it. I've been giving some 64t, but print might be better, for more latitude, i wanted an overcast day, but wish there was just a bit more light!

I definately want to shoot some more soon. I think I've fallen in love with super8. inevitable!

#5 Nicholas Kovats

Nicholas Kovats
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Shoot film! facebook.com/UltraPan8WidescreenFilm

Posted 23 November 2010 - 10:52 PM

Great first effort, David! Keep it up. Have you considered shooting S8 color negative? i.e. Vision 3 200T. Not as contrasty but way more latitude. I have even exposed it at 400 ASA at f/11. Beautiful stock. Colors are more muted. But human skin tone is gorgeous. And the new Vision 3 has even a finer grain structure than the previous Vision 2 version.

#6 Stephen Floyd

Stephen Floyd