7 replies to this topic

#1 Josh Phoenix

Josh Phoenix
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 27 November 2010 - 05:30 PM

Im new to video and actually own a photography company(we just started getting into video). This board looks really good so I am glad that I can be part of this community. I hope I can contribute as much as take from the forum.

What I do in my business is mostly property videos so I usually use a dollyslide, do a bunch of transitions in the property then write a narrative to them afterwords. This is probably the most basic work you can do, but im getting good practice with the slides and movements of the camera.

I have a small business(a chiropractor) that wants me to do a short 30-45 sec commercial for there website and Ive never done anything like this. Im assuming the story will be pretty straight forward, and i do have some knowledge of composing shots due to my photography.
What I really need help with is a program for storyboarding on a APPLE computer.
Im assuming the way you would engage the client before shooting is to make a story board and then review it with the client?

Im brand new so any help is appreciated

#2 Joseph Arch

Joseph Arch
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Director

Posted 27 November 2010 - 05:52 PM

Or you could send them a link to a video similar to the one you have in mind so if the client changes their mind and goes with another company you would have not squandered time.

#3 Josh Phoenix

Josh Phoenix
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 27 November 2010 - 05:57 PM

I appreciate that, I may give that a try. This client has already chosen me. Now its really just about making sure the story I want to do is matching his expectation. Also Im still going to need to build the story before shooting, so I would still like to start getting the hang of some of these techniques.

#4 Joseph Arch

Joseph Arch
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip