#1 Annika Berglund

Annika Berglund

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Other

Posted 01 January 2011 - 03:06 PM

I've been working as a photographer for a couple of years and I'm all new to this with motion film, I've been meaning to get in to it for a long time to start making musicvideos and I've spent countless hours reading and googling around to find info about what I want to know without any satisfying results. I really hope you can guide me!

What I like is that film-look that you can find in old documentarys from the 70s and early 80s. I would like some guidance in what cameras I should invest in and maybe some pointers to what film I might be looking for.

Here are some helpful links to my inspiration:

Any help I would greatly appreciate!
Thanks

#2 Ryan Silva

Ryan Silva
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Student
  • Queens, New York

Posted 01 January 2011 - 04:10 PM

What I like is that film-look that you can find in old documentarys from the 70s and early 80s. I would like some guidance in what cameras I should invest in and maybe some pointers to what film I might be looking for.

Here are some helpful links to my inspiration:
http://www.youtube.c...h?v=uDYB8-Omp9o
http://www.youtube.c...h?v=IhhJqJV_u6M

Any help I would greatly appreciate!
Thanks

Invest in lenses, not camera bodies. Spend a couple/few hundred on a Bolex and then significantly more on a decent set of prime lenses. I know a lot of students whose mothers and fathers bought them Arriflexes and the cheap glass, and a lot of my footage looks significantly better. That's coming from a student perspective, though. Best of luck in your shooting.

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 01 January 2011 - 05:02 PM