Roman Dukic

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Director
  • Belgrade

Posted 04 February 2011 - 04:23 AM

Which is the best HD Camcorder ( 1000$ ) for low light use? Please help me. It will be very important for me. I'm a student and I work hard for that (not that you need to pity me, it's just I don't know much about it, and I don't wanna make same foolish choice as I once did) Thanks a lot.

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 04 February 2011 - 12:13 PM

Which is the best HD Camcorder ( 1000$ ) for low light use? Please help me. It will be very important for me. I'm a student and I work hard for that (not that you need to pity me, it's just I don't know much about it, and I don't wanna make same foolish choice as I once did) Thanks a lot.

I don't know but I'd guess that a DSLR (like the Canon T2i or 7D) shooting HD would be better in low light due to the size of the sensor and photosites, but I actually haven't tested that against any 1/3" consumer camcorders.

#3 Marcus Joseph

Marcus Joseph
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Other
  • Sydney, Australia

Posted 05 February 2011 - 05:59 AM

I don't know but I'd guess that a DSLR (like the Canon T2i or 7D) shooting HD would be better in low light due to the size of the sensor and photosites, but I actually haven't tested that against any 1/3" consumer camcorders.

I also think the 60D is a good option for its flip out screen, I'm sure the SLRs hold up better than most of the 1/3" cameras around but it'd be an interesting thing to really find out.

I suppose it matters more on the shooting context (how low-light) or how long it's really needed for, because if it's only a day or two worth of shooting low-light it'd be worth considering renting a 1D MKIV, they shoot some great low-light. It's ridiculous compared to all the other SLRs.