Simpson Parker

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 18 March 2011 - 06:40 PM

Hello all,

I have a question regarding focus, DOF tables, and lenses. I am still a noob, so apologies in advance for something I should have understood before an elaborate post! I am reviewing a series of lens tests, shot in 35mm and scanned to 2k files. In testing each prime lens, I used a focus chart and pulled tape to an exact metre mark on the lens. I had an actor in front (slightly) of the chart itself, to have something for the focal plane to settle on as the lens was racked in and out of focus. But, the depth of field tables tell me I should have a given range of "acceptable" sharpness at a specific f-stop, lens, and distance. Most of the tests revealed a RAZOR thin DOF in setups where the near and far were two meters apart. Shouldn't this range be in focus? For example, not having to pull focus on a shot because the action is well inside?

Thanks,
Simpson Parker

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19765 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 18 March 2011 - 07:07 PM

Hello all,