Photo

Film Vs. Digital from a cost perscpective.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Michael Watson

Michael Watson

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 11 May 2011 - 03:06 PM

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here, so I hope I'm doing it in the right place. I'm up for a feature and I wanted to do a cost analysis on the work flows of 35mm film Vs. a digital work flow. The film will have a theatrical release both domestically and internationally. Can anyone point me to a website or information source that would help me with this task?

Thank you

Edited by Michael Watson, 11 May 2011 - 03:07 PM.

#2 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 12 May 2011 - 02:10 PM

It's one of those things where you can make the no's go any way you want. I know 35mm features shot with a photochemical finish where the crew got paid for $100,000.

What's your budget, what sort of Digital do you want to use? Alexa, F35, Epic or EX3?

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here, so I hope I'm doing it in the right place. I'm up for a feature and I wanted to do a cost analysis on the work flows of 35mm film Vs. a digital work flow. The film will have a theatrical release both domestically and internationally. Can anyone point me to a website or information source that would help me with this task?

Thank you

#3 Michael Watson

Michael Watson

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 12 May 2011 - 03:13 PM

It's one of those things where you can make the no's go any way you want. I know 35mm features shot with a photochemical finish where the crew got paid for $100,000.

What's your budget, what sort of Digital do you want to use? Alexa, F35, Epic or EX3?

Hey Stephen