#1 Andrew Welles

Andrew Welles

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Student

Posted 20 May 2011 - 09:04 PM

I want to start shooting a short film soon. I'm fairly new to all this, DOP, Cameras, ect. I actually have no clue what in the world you people are talking about when you start talking about cameras, and camera types, IE. 35 mm, Optical, ect ect. I did however research that the films I want mine to look like used a 35 mm, kodak or something.

So anyway, I was wondering, how could i capture the closest look to films like There will be blood, and no country for old men? How much would it cost to attain this look? Where would I buy, or rent these things?

PS. if you ever find the time, could you recommend me some sites that offer assistance in things like this? Negative and positives, ect. Thank you!)

Edited by Andrew Welles, 20 May 2011 - 09:07 PM.

#2 Will Montgomery

Will Montgomery
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2030 posts
  • Producer
  • Dallas, TX

Posted 23 May 2011 - 04:21 PM

Too many factors contribute to what you're asking, you're best bet would be to hire a crew that works in film that can help you through it.

Lighting, stock choices, lens choices, color timing, the list goes on...

#3 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 23 May 2011 - 04:35 PM

Locations play a huge part to the look of a film. You're not going to be able to film a period piece without a period looking location.... and all the period props which go with it.
And yes, as mentioned, you should find a production designer and DoP who can help you through all of this as well as a producer who will/should/can find out costs.

As for other questions, there is a search function here to look for specific things, feel free to ask away on specific things, there is also a pinned section on books
http://www.cinematog...p?showforum=107

which'll have various reading materials to help get you up to speed.