#1 Momotaro Ushido

Momotaro Ushido

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Student

Posted 23 May 2011 - 04:17 PM

Hi, I am currently a student doing my AS levels in the UK. I was wondering if I could have your advice on film making.
I have been into photography and film since a young age and I started to take it seriously when I was about 14, and soon purchased a DSLR. I haven't quite gone that way with film yet, because I felt I didn't have enough friends who were into that kind of thing to ever make anything half decent. I've only got a little sony camcorder type thing, nothing special.
But I've thought about cinematography and that kind of job for my future, but I was worried that, because at my late stage I still hadn't got to grips with 'proper' videocameras, that there would be no point to pursue it. Although right now cinematography is my goal for my future, I decided my back-up is going to be advertising.

After browsing these forums for similar topics to this I found that a lot of people were very negative about the UK film industry, and it's not that I wouldn't mind moving if I ever got the chance (if that meant work), but I'm worried that if I try to pursue this goal I won't achieve it due to the number of people my age who are much more skilled technologically than me.

obviously I know there is no definite path to becoming a cinematographer, but I wanted to know if pursuing this goal at this stage is a unwise move. I do want to do it but I think that doubt it holding me back. I don't know anyone in the business which is obviously a huge blow, although I've tried contacting some people (with fairly limited success) but anyway, thanks for your time.

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7117 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 23 May 2011 - 04:39 PM