Ron Ruanphae

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Student

Posted 26 May 2011 - 09:49 AM

Hi Everyone

Im pretty new to this forum and I thought this would be a great place to get some great insight. Im a recent cinematography graduate (still so much to learn) and was asked to shoot a short film with a RED One that belongs to the director. This would be the first time for me using the RED. The short film is entirely night ext. in a forest. Fortunately it will be a full moon those days, but my main concern is if the One ton grip truck that they've rented will be sufficient enough to get a good exposure. The biggest lights we have would probably be 2 2k Fresnels. Im not exactly sure what to rate the camera. Im assuming at a 320ASA the 2Ks wont be enough? Any suggestions or insights? Thanks in Advance.

#2 Brian Drysdale

Brian Drysdale
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5070 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 26 May 2011 - 10:21 AM

It really depends on size of the area you're going to light, but assuming you're going for a moonlight effect with CTB gels, there's a very good chance that the 2ks wouldn't be enough. Another factor is how wide an aperture your lenses are going to have.

The moon itself won't any influence on the exposure at the light levels you're working at with the RED.

What you rate the camera at will depend on how you personally feel about the noise levels at a particular ISO. Some people object to the noise more than others, since it's the director's camera you should run some tests and see how far you want to go.