#1 Andy Bissonnette

Andy Bissonnette

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 01 July 2011 - 02:28 PM

I know this isn't a terribly complex setup, but I am looking to see what others may think... I am a recent graduate, still learning, and I am DP'ing my first in-studio commercial in a few weeks. I am currently deciding on the lights I will need. Basically, it is a commercial with three different scenes, all to be shot in studio. It's more of a warehouse, there is no grid, all the lights will need to be rented. The sets will all be constructed out of cardboard. The aesthetic we are going for is almost fake. A great example is this video:

More specifically around 1:30 after the lights dim. I am looking for a more experienced person's deconstruction, which will help me to decide on how to approach my set up. Here is what I see:

There is obviously some kind of huge light mimicking the sun from the upper left. (I will call this the key light) It looks tungsten. I am guessing it is some sort of fresnel due to the even spread of light and unfocused edge. Is this a correct assumption? My understanding of which lights (par vs fresnel etc) do what is still limited. What kind of light gives such a wide, even and mildly diffused light like this?

Then it seems as if the light changes between the CU and Wide shots. I'd really like to concentrate more on the wide shot. How do you think they filled out the set? It's kind of a big set, is it possible they only used one light for the wide shots (minus the background horizon). Could it be a china ball or some sort of space light? If it is a space light, what do you think the ratio was between it and the big key light.