#1 v ruffin

v ruffin

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Sound Department

Posted 02 August 2011 - 04:10 PM

Can anyone recommend a good camera for around $2000-2500 with interchangeable lenses? I currently have the Sony Nex VG10 and it is pretty good however Ive read alot of bad reviews in regards to this camera. I'm considering the Canon 7d as a potential camera but Ive heard that since DSLR's aren't actual video cameras, there maybe some extra things I need to buy for it to (physically) function like one. One thing I don't like about my Sony is that it shoots in 30FPS only. My other gripes include not having XLR inputs (for sound) and no firewire 800 port. What are your thoughts on the Sony? What are your Sony Nex VG10 vs the Canon 7D thoughts? What other camera would you put next to those camera's in the same price range?

Lastly, Im a sound editor getting into film so I'm learning alot as I go. The Sony Nex VG10 is my 1st camera so I dont have any other camera experience to compare it to.

#2 Diego Gagliardi

Diego Gagliardi

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 10 October 2011 - 05:13 PM

Can anyone recommend a good camera for around $2000-2500 with interchangeable lenses? I currently have the Sony Nex VG10 and it is pretty good however Ive read alot of bad reviews in regards to this camera. I'm considering the Canon 7d as a potential camera but Ive heard that since DSLR's aren't actual video cameras, there maybe some extra things I need to buy for it to (physically) function like one. One thing I don't like about my Sony is that it shoots in 30FPS only. My other gripes include not having XLR inputs (for sound) and no firewire 800 port. What are your thoughts on the Sony? What are your Sony Nex VG10 vs the Canon 7D thoughts? What other camera would you put next to those camera's in the same price range?