Gabriela Castanon
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • South Africa

Posted 08 August 2011 - 04:23 AM

Hi there everyone,

I have been working in live TV for four years now, so my film knowledge is a little rusty!:)
I was wondering if you can use HD lenses on 16mm and 35mm cameras, or are the two technologies incompatible?
Regards,
Andrea

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 08 August 2011 - 11:05 AM

You need a little adaptor that corrects for the fact that 2/3" B4 HD lenses are designed to focus red, green, and blue rays through a prism block onto three sensors. Otherwise it works other than the fact that the 2/3" sensor is smaller than the Super-16 frame, so while the lens might cover Super-16 (or the cropped 2K mode on the Red One), it probably won't cover a 35mm frame.

#3 John Sprung

John Sprung
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4635 posts
  • Other

Posted 08 August 2011 - 12:49 PM

Is there any TV lens and adapter combination for which you can't find a purpose-built film lens that will do a better job for the same cost?

-- J.S.

#4 Chris Burke

Chris Burke
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1675 posts
  • Boston, MA

Posted 08 August 2011 - 08:29 PM

I worked on an NFL commercial Lance Accord shot on Super 16 with a Fujinon HD zoom. I asked him pretty much your same question, he answered, "sure, why not, it looks great. no problems" Who am I to argue. I have often thought about shooting some super 16 on zeiss digiprimes, except that they are insanely expensive, especially when compared to zeiss super speeds and will they be any better? I wonder how or if the coating on the lenses or some other factor might effect the film in an odd way, but I dunno. I guess one inch video zooms from way back are great for Super 16. I just bought an Aaton an am shopping around for such a lens

#5 Mitch Gross

Mitch Gross
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip