• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Frank DiBugnara

Frank DiBugnara
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts

Posted 29 August 2011 - 08:43 PM

I'm prepping a 5D and using a camera body I've never used before. I'm monitoring HDMI from the camera to a monitor I've used many times with other 5D bodies. Even though the camera is not rolling, I'm getting an SD signal postage-stamp on this monitor. The camera is set to 1080 24.

Any ideas on what might be causing this? I'm wondering if true 1080 preview monitoring was part of a firmware update somewhere along the way?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

#2 Hal Smith

Hal Smith
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2280 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • OKC area

Posted 13 September 2011 - 03:01 PM

I'm prepping a 5D and using a camera body I've never used before. I'm monitoring HDMI from the camera to a monitor I've used many times with other 5D bodies. Even though the camera is not rolling, I'm getting an SD signal postage-stamp on this monitor. The camera is set to 1080 24.

Any ideas on what might be causing this? I'm wondering if true 1080 preview monitoring was part of a firmware update somewhere along the way?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

I've read that the 5D outputs SD when recording video. Have a look around http://hurlbutvisuals.com/blog/ for a more authoritative answer.

#3 Ian Hedley Wakefield

Ian Hedley Wakefield
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Director
  • New Zealand

Posted 13 September 2011 - 04:32 PM

I've read that the 5D outputs SD when recording video.

All the Canon DSLRs output a SD signal via HDMI when recording except the 7D and possibly the 1D.

There's not much you can do about it. Not sure if the Magic Lantern hack/update fixes this.

#4 Jean Dodge

Jean Dodge
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Director

Posted 30 December 2011 - 05:53 PM