4 replies to this topic

#1 George Ebersole

George Ebersole
  • Sustaining Members
  • 822 posts
  • Industry Rep
  • San Francisco Bay Area

Posted 22 September 2011 - 11:56 PM

Okay, so I'm not a complete noob when it comes to HD, but I do have a question about playback, specifically streaming HD video.

I streamed an HD video today on my older machine. And when I turned off the HD it ran smoother, but had no less picture detail in the frame (at least not perceptible to me). This being so, I'm wondering what good HD is in a windowed format. If you're not seeing a higher resolution image, then why bother with HD at all?

#2 Chris Millar

Chris Millar
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1514 posts
  • Other

Posted 23 September 2011 - 12:26 AM

I streamed an HD video today on my older machine. And when I turned off the HD it ran smoother, but had no less picture detail in the frame (at least not perceptible to me). This being so, I'm wondering what good HD is in a windowed format. If you're not seeing a higher resolution image, then why bother with HD at all?

Well, um, yeh, it doesn't ...

Why bother with it ?

>> So you can blow it up to 1:1 image pixel to screen pixel and watch 'HD'

Of course, who knows what the real resolution is at all... (compression, capture medium, scanning, post workflow, effects etc...)

#3 George Ebersole

George Ebersole
  • Sustaining Members
  • 822 posts
  • Industry Rep
  • San Francisco Bay Area

Posted 26 September 2011 - 01:22 PM

Well, um, yeh, it doesn't ...

Why bother with it ?

>> So you can blow it up to 1:1 image pixel to screen pixel and watch 'HD'

Of course, who knows what the real resolution is at all... (compression, capture medium, scanning, post workflow, effects etc...)

I guess I can see that. I sure do wish someone would code a dynamic feed so that you only got what you needed in terms of data, instead of trying to cram a ton of image data into a tiny window.

#4 Chris Millar

Chris Millar
  • Basic Members