#1 Tristan Harris

Tristan Harris

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 06 October 2011 - 08:51 PM

Hello all This is my first time ever on a Cinematography forum I am a complete newbie that needs as much info as possible. I am looking to pick each and everyone's brain on this forum for knowledge. A little about my back ground first up is that I am 28 years of age. I live in Queensland Australia. I have a partner and two children under three. I have always been a film buff, leaning most of my time towards horror an science fiction. I am an installer by trade and a visual artist. I have been into photography for some years. In the last month I have bought a canon 5D to replace my 450D as I would like to come across to the filming side of things. So basically I'm after very basic info to start me off. settings, programs, tips n tricks anything to get me started I have been on you tube watching as much as I can and reading as much as possible to. thanks and nice to meet you all. I'm looking forward to chatting to everyone and sharing some of my video once I get into it. any more info you need from me don't hesitate to ask.

#2 Chris Millar

Chris Millar
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1642 posts
  • Other

Posted 06 October 2011 - 09:41 PM

Welcome from NZ ;)

Lots of helpful people here -

hints:

~ just go out and give it a go Posted Image

~ get specific for best results - cut down on variables - both here on this site and behind your camera...

Of course freewheeling is fine too, but your mileage will vary

#3 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7116 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 07 October 2011 - 12:21 AM

When free-wheeling, try to take notes or at least remember what you did (in-case things go right as well as wrong). Welcome.

#4 Tristan Harris

Tristan Harris

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 07 October 2011 - 05:22 PM