5 replies to this topic

#1 Matt Stevens

Matt Stevens
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Other

Posted 21 November 2011 - 09:44 PM

I'm just an amateur, so forgive my ignorance. There are two scenarios I need to talk about here in regards to choosing daylight vs tungsten stock for a Super8 project.

1. Shooting an actor in an apartment with large windows. Daylight will be the primary lighting source, but we will have some interior lighting in the mix. If I can get away with only using a bounce board, I will. But it's doubtful. So likely mixed lighting sources here.

2. Driving in a lovely BMW, shooting the actor in the rear seat and while we are shooting, the car will enter the Holland tunnel, so bye bye daylight, hello tungsten.

The likely camera used is a Canon 1014 XL-S.

So 250D or 200t?

And stock depending, where should I have the filter switch on the 1014 for those two scenarios?

Thanks, gang. B)

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7118 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 22 November 2011 - 09:26 AM

Hey Matt;
I would go with Daylight stock on both of those.
For the car, when it drives into the tunnel, it'll be ok if it goes orange (though I doubt the tunnel is T lit. Chances are it's Sodium or Mercury Vapor lighting, in which case no film will resolve the color "right.") and we expect the color shift.