#1 David Dearig

David Dearig

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Producer

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:04 PM

I'm in preproduction of my first "real" film. I've been doing short films and family "documentaries" for about 15 years now, but I finally have the backing to produce something substantial. (have a decent budget)

My budget will allow me $10,000 for camera and associated hardware. I will be shooting mostly outdoors in Africa, Rome, New Orleans, and Kansas. If you can guess my subject from that information, you get a hat. lol

Anyway, sound will be mostly voice-overs for the outdoor footage (about 80%), and the indoor stuff will be mostly interviews with lavilere mikes. In other words, I'm not that concerned with sound on the camera itself. Most sound (probably all) will be external to the camera.

So, now to choose. My first thought was to go for a Canon XF300. $7k, room for a few addons and whatnot in my budget. Perfect. Then I started reading the reviews, and a lot of pople said, no, you'd be better off with a 5D or similiar DSLR if sound isn't important. Ok, so I go to the DSLR forum and I see lots of problems with the DSLR. So I go back to the pro cameras and- no, go back to DSLR. No, DSLR sucks, go back to pro video...

So which is it? If you had $10k to spend and wanted a COMPLETE system for film making intended for theater viewing, what would you use? (Somebody told me to wait a year and get a used Red One...) Shooting starts in April, so I have a little bit of time, but I can't be worring about camera choice in March. It's just two of us, me and my assistant Producer/Director/DP/Grip/Coffee getter/wife making this movie, so simple is very high on the importance list. Thanks!

#2 Brian Dzyak

Brian Dzyak
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1517 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Encino, California USA

Posted 28 December 2011 - 08:07 PM