#1 Blair Kelly

Blair Kelly

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 25 January 2012 - 09:45 AM

Hi guys, Im new to DSLR cinematography and I am interested in buying a lens that will make my live videos look better. I have a cannon 600d(Rebel T3i) with the stock lens(18-55mm). The main problem I have been having is that some of my footage, when watched back is too dark to see anything. I have played about with the aperture and tried to find the best positions on stage to get the best shots but still I find it difficult to get good footage. I have been recommened to invest in prime lenses but these can be very expensive so i was wondering : What is the best wide angle prime lens for filming in a dark venue that wont break my bank(500 bucks).

I am really interested in helping out the bands I film by putting the videos up on YouTube but i dont want to put up videos that aren't very good and will make the band look bad.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,
Thanks,
Blair

#2 Miek Sneak

Miek Sneak

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 07 February 2012 - 08:39 PM

Hi guys, Im new to DSLR cinematography and I am interested in buying a lens that will make my live videos look better. I have a cannon 600d(Rebel T3i) with the stock lens(18-55mm). The main problem I have been having is that some of my footage, when watched back is too dark to see anything. I have played about with the aperture and tried to find the best positions on stage to get the best shots but still I find it difficult to get good footage. I have been recommened to invest in prime lenses but these can be very expensive so i was wondering : What is the best wide angle prime lens for filming in a dark venue that wont break my bank(500 bucks).

I am really interested in helping out the bands I film by putting the videos up on YouTube but i dont want to put up videos that aren't very good and will make the band look bad.