#1 George William Allen

George William Allen

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 07 February 2012 - 12:42 PM

I am a student at the university of Westminster, UK. I am trying to shoot my graduation film on 35mm 2 perf. Usually I wouldn't hesitate to use s16, as I love the format - however there are quite a few extreme wides and its a slow paced film; I am a little worried that when the audience is looking in to the details within the wider frames - it could just exaggerate the grain too much, especially in low light!

I thought about shooting s16 with anamorphic, but from what I hear its more effort than its worth. Unreliable frame stretching, expensive (and hard to acquire) lenses. Furthermore dev costs & lab time is a pain.

I then contemplated using some grain removal on the wides, I contacted a few post houses to get quotes - but its quite hap-hazard as to whether or not I will get flame time. Students come second to fully paying clients, something that I completely sympathise with; but its still a pain!

Therefore I figured, why not try shoot 35mm. I have been looking in to it and I can get stock at .19p a ft and dev + HD tele for .26p a foot (which is pretty close to 16mm). Furthermore I have been offered a free 35mm 2 perf camera (originally used for effects because of its 2 pin system), but its old and possibly unreliable, so I have been contacting rental companies to try and find a good deal on a 35mm kit. However quotes are coming through, and they are rather substantial.

Furthermore someone of DVX user said:

Small correction on my part. You'll get 32 frames per foot with 2 perf. So you will have 25% more feet to shoot if you shot 2 perf compared to 16mm. So depending on how much you are looking at shooting, and the price of each package that might save you money.