sampark

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 14 March 2012 - 03:25 PM

Hi Guys!

I am very new to cinematography and need some basic guidelines to get me going. The challenge I am facing right now is to get a shot for the film I am shooting where I pull back (zoom out) from the cetral charachter's retina within his eye to a distance of about 2 feet from his face to get his entire face in the frame, without loosing focus at any point. I understand lenses would be involved in this challenge, but I know nothing of them and would greatly appreciate any guidance.

#2 Jérôme Keller

Jérôme Keller
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Student

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:03 PM

if your backfocus is set correctly than the shot you are proposing is no challenge at all. since the distance between camera and actor does not change during the zoom you simply zoom out and voila...everything is still in focus. it's only getting complicated once you start moving the camera around relative to your actor's movements.

#3 Travis Gray

Travis Gray
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Boston, MA

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:10 PM

You're probably looking for a parfocal lens (brought up in another thread about the Sigma still photography lens)

If using a still photography lens, it's probably a varifocal which won't hold focus through all parts of the zoom.

#4 Tom Jensen

Tom Jensen
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1234 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • Dallas, TX

Posted 26 March 2012 - 03:13 PM

Jerome, have you ever done this shot?

#5 Jérôme Keller

Jérôme Keller
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Student

Posted 26 March 2012 - 06:25 PM